Flamboro Speedway Puts Wraps On 2010 Season

Posted on Posted in '10 News

By Randy Spencer – Flamboro Speedway put the wraps on a successful 2010 season Saturday night holding their 48th annual Awards banquet at the Royal Canadian Legion in Waterdown.  The evening was well attended with many sponsors, supporters, fans and of course drivers who made the season memorable for all.  After the great meal, Gerry and Josh Paxton shared the microphone for the evening and Larissa Spencer handed out the awards to the winners.

The first awards of the night were for Perfect Attendance. Eleven Mini Stock drivers were awarded and included, Dave Bailey, Mike Taylor, Russ Aicken, Matt Dean, Rich Schwartzenburg, Sheldon Bossom, Samantha Shaw, Mark Dennis, Ken Stenhouse, Lisa Deleeuw and Courtney Scott. Four Thunder Car drivers received the honor, Randy Rusnell, Brad Collison, Billy Zardo III and Linda Dean. Five Late Model drivers made every event and included, Shawn Chenoweth, Paul Howse, Jason Shaw, Brad Corcoran and Gary Elliott.

Rookie of the Year was up next and the winner was the #88 Spira Racing car driven by Mark Dennis. The Late Model rookie award went to the #05 of Brad Corcoran.
The Thunder Car award took on a little more meaning as Linda Dean presented the newly named rookie award in memory of Paul McIlroy who past away this summer in an auto accident. He was a friend to all and Brittanica Howell was the first winner of the award.

Most Improved Driver awards went to #81 Sam Shaw in the Mini Stock division. She made incredible strides in her sophomore season and had 2 race wins and finished 9th in points. Dennis Cybalski won the award in the Thunder Car division having a great year and actually was challenging for the points lead until some bad luck at season’s end got in his way.  Shawn Chenoweth raced last year in the Thunder Car division but the fact he won just about every big Late Model race in site this season made it hard to argue against this fiery competitor.

Best Effort award went to #43 Sarah Miskiewicz, who had a great season with 3 feature wins but some bad luck under the hood prevented a much better finish but the she sure kept it together for a strong season.  Linda Dean was very consistent all year finishing 6th in Thunder Car points and Chris Boschler had some hard luck in the Late Model but still finished strong with a great effort and not giving up.

The Best Appearing Car awards went to Sam Shaw in Mini Stocks, Brad Collison in Thunder Cars and the Ironman Gary Elliott in Late Models. It was a trying season for Gary who had some bad luck and a few big wrecks but managed to have the car looking like new every week.

Other awards included,
-Most Checkered Flags-Mini Stocks Brian Watson and Rob Hoskins tied with 13 victories each.
Thunder Cars Randy Rusnell with 8 wins and
Late Models Paul Howse and Shawn Chenoweth tied with 15 wins each.
-Most Sportsmanlike Drivers – Voted by secret ballot by drivers of Flamboro Speedway, Mini Stocks Mike Taylor, Thunder Cars Kevin Albers and Late Models to Gary Elliott.
-Mini Stock 2010 Championship to Dave Bailey, 2nd Russ Aicken,  3rd Mike Taylor,  4th Matt Dean and 5th Eric Yorke.
-Thunder Car 2010 Championship to Randy Rusnell, his 4th consecutive championship, 2nd Kevin Albers,  3rd Brad Collison,  4th Billy Zardo III and 5th Dennis Cybalski.
-Late Model 2010 Championship to Shawn Chenoweth, 2nd Paul Howse,  3rd Jason Shaw,  4th Gary Elliott and 5th Brad Corcoran.
-Bill Grisdale was on hand to award the trophies for the Grisdale Triple Crown Series for Late Models. This annual event is always very successful and well attended. The 2010 Champion was none other than Shawn Chenoweth, 2nd place went to Brad Corcoran,  3rd Chris Bochsler,  4th Todd Campbell and 5th place was Gary Elliott.
-Annual Flamboro Speedway Memorial Night Champions were, Late Model Jeff Stewart, Thunder Cars Kevin Albers and Mini Stocks Eric Yorke.
-President’s Award to Chris Brading of MacMaster Pontiac in Orangeville for their great ongoing support of racing at Flamboro Speedway.
-Frankie and Toni Ann Casale presented track owners, John and Frank Casale with an award for their hard work and dedication to making Flamboro Speedway successful.

Dave Franks, track photographer for 30 years at Flamboro was on hand and took lots of great photos, check them out at http://davefranksphotos.com/

See you in April 2011 for the 50th season of racing at Flamboro Speedway!!