Oktoberfest At Flamboro Finally Gets The Green

Posted on Posted in '10 News

Oktoberfest 2010 at Flamboro Speedway was two weeks late but well worth the wait. The weather was great and the pits were full with well over 100 cars in six divisions ready to qualify for Sunday’s feature races. A huge turn out of cars from other local tracks added to the excitement.

The Late Models got the afternoon underway with time trials and Flamboro track champion #89 Shawn Chenoweth set the pace with a fast lap of 15.66. Jason Shaw, Jeff Stewart and Mark Burbridge were right on his heals. The roll of the dice inverted the field by 8, so Chenoweth will start 8th in Sundays first 50 lap feature. The #75 of T.J. Marshall took the last chance race. The Limited Late Models ran 4 heats and four different cars came up winners. #28 Roy Wilkie (Sauble Speedway), #69 Al Inglis (Barrie Speedway), #81 Chris VanDusen (Varney Speedway) and #37 Rick Walt (Barrie Speedway) all took checkered flags. The F4 Performance 4 cylinder modifieds had there heat race and final feature of the season. The #63 of Mark Lucas held off the hard charging Silver Bullet of #43 John Verney to take the heat race. In the feature race, #8 Craig Shaver took the victory with Verney and Lucas close behind.

Forty Two Mini Stocks were competing for Thirty spots for Sundays feature and a few familiar faces were in the winner’s circle. #88 Mark Dennis, who is really coming along in his rookie season with Spira racing and #43 Sarah Miskiewicz continued her amazing season with another heat victory. Neil Hannah #9 who calls Peterborough Speedway home, took the other qualifying heat victory. An exciting consi race saw 17 cars take the green, with only six cars advancing to the big race. Top six, #38 Bill Pearsall, #31 Jack Horner, #01 Mark Dasilva, #89 Cory Horner, #84 Lisa DeLeeuw and #44 Dale Cooke.

The Thunder Cars ran 2 sets of qualifying heats with 40 cars in the pits. Winners were #73 Nick Troback (Flamboro), #36 Ken Grubb (Varney Speedway), #21 Matt Bentley (Sunset Speedway), #81 Matt Muholland (Varney Speedway), #32 Marvin Freiburger (Varney Speedway) and #76 Shawn Arnott (Varney Speedway). The Ontario Sportsman took the track for their 100 lap feature to wrap up their 2010 season. Just taking the green flag assured #40 of Jay Doerr of the championship. He finished the season with 4 feature wins. The #81 of  Shawn McGlynn was on the pole along with the #16 Kelly Balson and led the race from the start and was building a big lead until lap 16 when sparks started to fly and he retired to the infield. The #66 of Josh Wood was the new leader and led until lap 25 when the new OSS champion took the lead and held it for the majority of the race, leading lap 26-93. The eventual race winner #11 of Cole Weber took over the lead from Doerr and held the lead to take the win on lap 99 when the race was red flagged after the #86 of Kenny Forth took a hard shot from behind, climbed the front straight wall and ended upside down on the front straight with fuel pouring out. The race was stopped, Forth was removed ok and the race was called at that point with Cole Weber taking the checkered flag.